top of page
Search

Hell on Lundy's Lane

The following is a mythological poem about the 22nd in the war of 1812. After fighting in the Niagara Campaign Michael the Arch Angel gives the 22nd the mark of Cain and curses them to provide workers on the road to Hell. That road is called Lundy's Lane (which was an actual bloody and hard-fought battle regiment fought in). Those evil men that the 22nd kills are condemned to work on Lundy's Lane as a punishment for their sin. Enjoy!


In blood-soaked field, upon a hill

Michael came to greet me.

He said I need you, your regiment too,

To give me souls for working.


The road to hell is not paved so well,

So evil souls you’ll give me.

Bare the mark of Cain, work for Lundy’s Lane

And your soul will never tarry.


He gave me the mark, and violence did spark,

The men they never grow weary.

We made off with haste, there’s no time to waste,

For evil men still living.


Oh Lundy’s Lane,

Filled with murder, filled with pain.

I was a good lad but still, I came,

To send souls to hell on Lundy’s Lane.


From Niagara’s storms, we did swarm,

Forever sieging cities.

Went to Vicksburg too, to handle a few,

And save our people from slavery.


When New Orleans fell, the people not well,

The twenty-two was sending.

Killed the bastards who hated a few,

Now there’s no one left for speaking.


I have suffered the anguish,

Blood at the edge of my knife.

You cannot quench the blood lust,

Or hide in the night.

I’ll send you away,

To go work Lundy’s Lane.

I’ll send you away,

Now go pave Lundy’s Lane


Oh Lundy’s Lane,

Filled with murder, filled with pain.

I was a good lad but still, I came,

To send souls to hell on Lundy’s Lane.


When the World went to war, and evil did soar,

They sent our lads to Normandy.

In Hurtgean that whor,e we sent some more,

And sent some more for paving.


When will we be done, all these battles we’ve won,

Michael’s curse we’re keeping.

But when evil bells are rung, our drum keep on,

To kill men for their deeding.


Oh Lundy’s Lane,

Filled with murder, filled with pain.

I was a good lad but still, I came,

To send souls to hell on Lundy’s Lane.


From Vietnam to Afghanistan,

Evil, we’ll keep punishing.

Till we meet our end, at the end of this land,

Michael’s war keeps pounding.


Were evil reigns the Twenty-Second came,

For those evil men’s perishing.

I’ll give up my sword, hear “Deeds not Words,”

When my Lord finally takes me.


I have suffered the anguish,

Blood at the edge of my knife.

You cannot quench the blood lust,

Or hide in the night.

I’ll send you away,

To go work Lundy’s Lane.

I’ll send you away,

Now go pave Lundy’s Lane

Oh Lundy’s Lane,

Filled with murder, filled with pain.

I was a good lad but still, I came,

To send souls to hell on Lundy’s Lane.


By,

John Cooper




61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page