top of page
Search

Deuce Boy, SGT Justin King, Sniper Section Leader

The Sniper Section leader of 2nd Battalion 22nd Infantry Regiment is Sergeant (SGT) Justin King. SGT King has been in 2-22IN his entire time in the Army. He started out in Charlie Company as a Radio Telephone Operator, went to the scout platoon, became an assistant team leader (ATL) on a scout team, was a shooter on a sniper team, and now is the Sniper Section leader.

Sgt King is from Durham Connecticut and was a ski instructor before he joined the Army. “I loved my life and what I was doing, but I just needed to do something with purpose.” Sgt King would enlist in the Army in 2016.

“I remember standing in the bay at basic training and waiting to hear where I was going. I remember the Drill Sergeant tell me I was going to the 10th Mountain at Fort Drum. I thought, those are the dudes that skied in World War 2, did they know I skied?”

When Sgt King came to the 10th Mountain Division, he was assigned to 2nd Battalion 22nd Infantry Regiment. He would first start in Charlie Company and then try out for the Scout Platoon. “I knew Scouts were the best soldiers in the battalion and I wanted to be the best. I also knew that this was the pathway to become a sniper, something I have always wanted to do.”

When asked what he liked most about the 22nd Infantry, SGT King replied, “I didn’t know units went back as far as the early 1800s. It blew me away how long this regiment has been fighting wars for our country. Its insane that I get to be a part of that story. I also have a love for winter sports and the outdoors, so I was super excited to be put into the 10th Mountain Division and serve in that legacy. Ever since I have been here Triple Deuce has won like every competition, so being a part of the best is always cool.”

SGT King deployed to Afghanistan in 2020 and served as a Sergeant of the Guard on his outpost. “Being able to forever be part of the war effort in the 22nd is truly an honor” he said.

Justin King will soon be getting out of the Army and moving back to Connecticut. He plans on entering a trade school and becoming an electrician. “I am definitely happy for this experience and I know it will help me in my future career. The 22nd will always be a part of me and I hope to continue to honor it.”


45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page